Recipe Wednesday- Vegetable Beef Soup

If anyone knows med students, we’re cheap, don’t have a lot of money and have to learn to cook at some point if  we don’t want to live off of roman noodles.  For me, my new best friend is my crock pot.  I can prep whatever needs to be prepped, throw it in the crock pot and let it go for 5 hrs and do whatever else I need to do.  When I’m done, I have more than enough for dinner for a week.  This week’s recipe: Vegetable Beef Soup.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground beef (to be healthy, leaner the better)
  • 4 cups water (you don’t even have to buy it at the store!)
  • 1 lb potatoes (ie 2 ish smaller potatoes) peeled and cut up into pieces
  • 1 onion, cut up
  • mushroom pieces
  • Onion soup mix pack
  • 1 jar (16 oz) salsa (chunky)
  • 2 carrots, chopped up (or if you’re me, baby carrots dumped in)

What to do:

  • cook the beef over the stove until it’s brown
  • while the beef is cooking, get all of the other ingredients into the crock pot in whatever order you want and mix them up
  • add the beef when it’s brown enough
  • cook on high for 3-4 hrs (in med student time) or 8 hrs on low
  • enjoy!

If I had pictures, I’d share them, but I don’t unfortunately.  Any left overs can be thrown into plastic tupperware and put into the fridge for supper in the the rest of the week’s meals.  If I can do it (and this being someone who doesn’t cook a lot), anyone can.   It’s idiot proof!!! Just don’t forget that you have it on

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Eating Plants and Running the 50 States

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

