The Madness that is March

March is bitter sweet all in one….lots of college basketball on, but at the end of the month, it’s all over.  Yesterday morning, I made the spur of the moment decision to go to DC and watch the Pitt-Butler matchup that send home the first #1 seed of the tournament and part of the UConn Cincy match up.  Both teams I was cheering for (Pitt and Cincinnati) lost :-(.  As an Ohioan, I cheer on all Ohio schools unless they play OSU in which OSU gets my vote.  Anytime anyone plays Butler, the team who is not Butler gets my vote.  I went to Loyola Chicago of the Horizon League for 4 years and Butler was not a fun game to be at as we lost most of the time to them.

I hopped on the Amtrak around 335 and was to DC by 6.  2 quick stops on the red line metro had me to the Verizon Center and there was little wait at Will Call to pick up my ticket.  After I got into the arena, I of course took part in the purchasing of merchandise- a long sleeved shirt for me (and later a Cincy 2011 tournament shirt) and a Pitt shirt for my cousin who is a senior there.  I was in the nose bleed section next to a lady and her family.  The lady was cheering for Butler but couldn’t clap at the right time for them.  Needless to say, it was a good game and Pitt (as a friend of mine put it) found a new way to lose or it was just a straight up heartbreaker.  There were some no calls that should have been called (as a friend of mine said, what were the refs thinking?!) and calls that shouldn’t have been.  What really stinks of seeing live games is that we get little instant replay as opposed to those watching on TV :-/  I will say, sad day for me and my Pitt friend supporters. (I’ve promised my cousin I’ll quit attending games in March involving Pitt).  How the last few minutes of the game ended?  Take a peek

I only got to see the 1st half of the UConn Cincinnati game which started around 10pm.  Cincy I will say kept it close in the first half and from what I hear, even through the first 15 minutes of the second half (I think it was 53-50 at one point).  With all my years living in some sort of city with a subway, you learn the later it gets, the less subways/metros run so I had to make sure I had enough time to catch the Megabus back to Philly (which left at 11:59 pm 5 blocks away from Union Station in DC).  I could only half nap on the way back since we stopped in Baltimore before Philly and the bust was continuing on to NYC.  When we were getting back to philly around 245 AM, a car decided to break down on the exit we needed to get off at which added another 15 minute of wait time (apparently double decker buses and bridges aren’t friends so we couldn’t go an alternate route).  By the I finally got home, it was 330 and I didn’t fall asleep till after 4….and with an 8/815 AM wake up call for a 10K, needless to say that race took place with one very tired me

Tomorrow: how the Get Your Rear into Gear 10K went

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Running the 50 States Plus Home Sweet DC

Run Away With Me

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

