Race Review- Caeser Rodney 1/2 Marathon

 

Today I ran my first half marathon of the year- the Caeser Rodney 1/2 Marathon in Wilmington, DE.  This particular half has been running for 48 years, the longest in Delaware (I’m not sure however, if someone has actually run all 48 years).  I registered a few weeks ago because I knew I needed a half to help with my marathon training for May and I have issues doing longer runs on my own (I mentally lose interest!).  I’ve heard about this race before on Races 2 Run when I signed up for a race last year through the site.

Since the race has been going on for so long, they have things figured out.  You could pick up your race gear the Thursday-Saturday before at Delaware Running Company or morning of at the starting line.  The race organizers have something set up with the Wilmington Center YMCA so you can use their lockers to keep stuff in AND use they’re showers if you choose after the race (more on that in a bit).  I picked my stuff up Thursday but could of (and should of with how early I was) picked up my stuff today.  Like many races, the timing chip was attached to the Bib (I was 485) which is nice (although the bib could have been a little more fun looking).  The race benefits the American Lung Association of Delaware (or Mid Atlantic Region- I can’t remember).  You also have Sen. Tom Carper of DE running the event (for the 29th time).  The event also has a 5K that starts before the half marathon (in my opinion, start the 1/2 marathon and then the 5K).  Start time: 9:30 Am! you don’t have to wake up ridiculously early to get there which is nice and a parking company opens up 3 of their lots for free for runners!

The first half of the race was pretty flat (I was in an unmotivated to run mood which made today tough).  After the 6.5 mile mark (and having the top 10-15 male runners pass us as they were almost done), we got some major hillage in as we went into some random Delaware park that led to some residential areas, more hills and more parks.  At least most of mile 12 was downhill.  The bad news? the last 1/4 of a mile or so was somewhat of an uphill.  Once I saw the finish, I was able to gun it to the end because I just wanted to be done so badly.  2hrs 15min 33 seconds which should be more like 2hrs 14min 33sec due to a bathroom run 2 miles into the race.  Afterwards, I headed back to the YMCA where my stuff was tucked and locked away and hoped into one of the showers. Not having to drive home in cold, sweaty running clothes and all salty was a huge plus!!  And, it was right across the street from where I parked which was right by I95 which is how I head back to Philly.

Overall a good race.  I wish it had been warmer than 33 degrees outside (I had a base layer long sleeved shirt, 2 other long sleeved running shirts and arm warms on).  I will say though that the time clocks were randomly placed.  I think I saw them at miles 1, 2, 9 and the finish (I think they said miles 1,5,10 and finish).  If you forget to check your watch at the start, that’s an issue.  Also, pizza at the finish?  Not the first thing I’d have in mind (though they did have bananas, bagels and some other runner friendly treats).  Also, get some bottled water or something- we’re thirsty!! I will say, I enjoy the cannon ball start (as oppose to the typical gun start)- sure got your attention!

This might be the race to do once just to say you’ve done it (unless it’s close or you need a training run).  Happy running!

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Running the 50 States Plus Home Sweet DC

Run Away With Me

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

