No Hurricane Will Get in the Way of My Long Run

For the past few days, Hurricane Irene has been all over the news.  Gov. Christie (NJ) was telling beach goers of the Jersey Shore to “Get the H@#! off the beaches,” not to worry about their tans and to get to higher ground.  All very true.  Besides Hurricane Irene blowing up my twitter newsfeed, the other subject highly being tweeted were by my runner friends training for various marathons and half marathons.  Many were about switching tomorrow’s (Sunday’s) long run to Friday or Saturday.  My long run was split into two runs yesterday- 8.5 around the Kelly Drive Loop and another 5.5 at the gym.  I couldn’t imagine trying to do double digits on the treadmill (or dreadmill).

Then there are the other effects of Irene.  In the Philadelphia/ NJ area alone, 2 half marathons were cancelled due to the weather.  The Wildwood 1/2 Marathon in NJ scheduled for tomorrow was cancelled on Friday.  Not sure people would be interested in running a 1/2 marathon in 60-100 mph winds and hurricane like rains.  There was also the Perk Up 1/2 Marathon for tomorrow also on the calendar.  Again, not a fun thing to try and run in.  I was set to run the Lehigh Valley Zoo 10K in the Allentown area.  Even though Allentown is a good 60-70 miles from any sort of river or major body of water, winds were set to be up around 60 mph and the rain was suppose to be felt that far in state.  Luckily, the event coordinators rescheduled it for September 18.  The bad news, it’s the day of the Rock n Roll Philadelphia 1/2 Marathon I’ve been signed up for since last year.  Can’t be in 2 places at once unfortunately.

The only upside to the hurricane is that it’s giving me a weekend off of running.  The past few weeks, I’ve hit 40+ miles a week and I’m currently up to 150+ miles for the month, the most I’ve run in a month ever I think.  So Irene, I thank you for that.  I thank you for forcing so many of us runners adjust our schedules around you and for giving us more rain in the wettest August Philadelphia has seen (not really).  And for messing with our power (kidding again).

To all my fellow East Coasters, be safe this weekend!!

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Running the 50 States Plus Home Sweet DC

Run Away With Me

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

