58481 what?

In the world of running, you know things are official when you get your bib number and your corral number.  Tuesday (yes, 7 weeks beforehand), the NYC Marathon uploaded confirmation information for runners.  Who is bib #58481?  This girl right here!!  For me, I’m in corral 58 with a 10:40 AM start time.  Because the NYC is so large, they have 60 corrals set up in 3 waves of start times (9:40 AM, 10:10 AM and 10:40 AM).  I’m semi regretting my 6:10 AM Staten Island Ferry to the start but we will see in due time if I can change that.

This past weekend, I was in Chicago for the Chicago Half Marathon and was able to meet some runners who will be running the NYC Marathon for Jack’s Fund.  So far, I’ve raised $810 through my donation page and have an additional $410 in the bank, putting me about halfway to my $2500 goal for the marathon.  YAY!!!  If you’ve donated, THANK YOU!!  I really appreciate it as does Jack’s Fund.  If not, you still have time!  No donation is too small as all will be going to a good cause and will be appreciated by me and my fellow runners and Jack’s Fund teammates.  As of now, I’ll just keep running, just keep running (remember Dori- Just keep swimming, just keep swimming, just keep swimming?). And Fundraising!

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

5 Responses to 58481 what?

  1. mmv says:

    Hi Drunner- I’m bib#58782…first marathon and concern about the waiting time….from getting to the start at 7 am and starting at 10:40. Thinking about having my husband drive me to the start line….Good Luck!

    • drrunner says:

      Hi MMV!! I’ve been following the time comments on the ING NYC Marathon Facebook page, It sounds better to be early rather than late. THis is my first NYC Marathon but 3rd overall but was thinking the same thing. With driving in, it sounds like Staten Island traffic is horrendous. One runner says they left at 7 and missed they’re Wave 1 start a few years ago because of traffic. People who’ve done NYC in the past say it takes about 25 minutes to get to the Start by ferry followed by taking a bus to the staging and then there is a security line to get through. Your corral actually closes about 30 minutes before start time too so you want to make sure your there. Hope this helps and good luck!

  2. mmv says:

    Hey- I think you are right..I’m scheduled to take the bus in MIdtown at 6 am. I guess I will bring some large garbage bags to sit on and cover up. Maybe I see u there!! :))

  3. mmv says:

    By the way I’m also running for charity MD https://www.joinmda.org/MyEvent/MyHomepage/tabid/206593/Participant/valtemm/Default.aspx MD is not officially in the NYC Marathon but, I always wanted to run for them if I go in- my nephew has MD and i’m dedicating my race to him. Just in case I will be wearing a blue shirt, maybe Aqua shirt (haven’t bought it yet) with MARIA in front.

  4. drrunner says:

    Maria (MMV), looks like a very good cause! Best of luck to you

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Running the 50 States Plus Home Sweet DC

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

