What Does 7000 Registrations, 12 hrs and the New Orleans Saints Have in Common?

On Monday, my friend Jay posted posted a link involving the Rock n Roll Marathon and Half Marathon in New Orleans, LA.  If you know anything about Jay and I, we both aren’t fans of the Rock n Roll series and the Competitor group.  Why, you might ask?  They’ve been increasing prices of their marathons and half marathons (something that is next April or May is already $80-$90 just for the half marathon!) and they’ve been taking over local races that have been doing perfectly fine on their own.  So the fact that Jay posted anything made me laugh and take a look.  The link took me to this page:

Why might this be of interest to any of Jay’s running friends?  Rock n Roll New Orleans was running a promotion from noon until midnight CST. $55 off registration into the half and full marathons.  FIFTY FIVE DOLLARS!!  Instead of paying a $90 (half marathon) or $95 (full marathon) registration fee, you could get in for $35 and $40 respectively.  That is absolutely insane!!  I remember telling my mom how much I felt like a traitor since after the Philadelphia Rock n Roll Half, I vowed never to run another Rock n Roll event because of the prices.  I can’t beat $35 though.  How did the discount come to be $55?  Enter the New Orleans Saints. Yes, those Saints who play in the NFL.  They happen to beat the Colts 62-7 on Sunday.  Point difference: 55.

Last night, I came across an article in one of the local New Orleans newspapers. 7000 people signed up for the race in twelve hours.  7000!!!  Organizers are convinced that it’s due to the increasing popularity of the event. I’m convinced it’s due to the price being slashed by over half.  I mean, a half marathon for $90 more than 5 months out?  You have got to be kidding me!  All in all, Rock n Roll lost $385,000 on this promotion alone ($55 x 7000 people).  I fell less of a traitor since they lost a huge chunk of money.  And guess what??  They’re using the SAINTSWIN promotion again this monday!  Only catch?  They’ll cap the discount at $21 (ie 3 touchdowns scored by the Saints).  Hmmm, I wonder why???

To you, New Orleans Saints, I thank you.  You saved me a huge chunk of money and allow me to laugh at a series that thinks $90 for a half marathon is an appropriate amount to be charging people.  I hope you win big next week so more people can take advantage!!

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Eating Plants and Running the 50 States

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

