You’re Asking the 10k Runners to Do What?!?

Yesterday, I decided to celebrate Halloween a few days early by running the Halloween Hustle in Lee’s Summit, MO.  Now, Lee’s Summit is about 20 minutes away from wear I’m currently hiding out in Overland Park, Kansas.  I figured it would be nice to get a run on a course outside before the NYC Marathon on November 6th and it was the first time for the race.  I figured the people of KC and Lee’s Summit might want to have this race again next year so if enough people signed up, the committee would put it on again next year.  Additionally, they were collecting food for the local food pantry and promoting health which is always important.

Anyways, I signed up for this after running my half marathon a few weeks ago thinking it would be a good taper run.  I noticed that I could pick up my stuff early which is always a plus if I can do it, just so I’m not rushing the morning of the race.  I went back and forth with this on Friday and just decided to do it so it would be done with.  A short, 20 minute drive later, I arrived at the gym that was putting the race on to get my stuff.  I got the generic RoadID bib, a t-shirt and a bag filled with flyers (the same flyers I actually got at my half marathon a few weekends ago).  As the lady was giving me my bag of goodies, she wished me luck tomorrow.  Tomorrow would be Saturday.  Now, the race was scheduled for October 29th, 2011 which was indeed Saturday.  It didn’t help me that all on Friday, I thought it was the 27th so I thought the race was on Sunday.  In order to not sound like a complete moron, I waited until I got back to my computer and internet in order to check this. And what do you know, it was a Saturday race and at least I didn’t show up this morning for it.

Saturday (the real October 29th), I headed out to some place called Unity Village, MO which is right next door to Lee’s Summit.  Now, you would think that I should have known things were going to go downhill if I couldn’t remember which day of the week it was.  I do one of the “I don’t know where I’m going but the people in front of me look like they do” things and follow a string of cars going into some entrance which turns out to be where the race was.  It was probably 40* out and there were tents, bouncy machines and a few vendors set up.  People were all decked out in costumes (I really can’t run in those sorts of thing).  For example, there were Thing 1 and Thing 2 from Dr. Seuss, Batman, someone trying (and failing miserably) to be LeBron James, and then dogs dressed up as a runner and a Mexican.  At 7:55, we head over to the start line.  Since this was a 5K and a 10K race, there were theoretically 2 starts (one for each race).  The 10K was suppose to start at 7:55 (which didn’t happen).  We’re waiting and waiting and 10 minutes later (at 8:05 but I wasn’t keeping track or anything), the timing clock was finally set up.  One of the organizers came on over a microphone and said they were running behind (obviously) and then gave course directions.  The 5K runners were going to do 2 laps around the course while the 10K runners were going to do 4 laps around the course.  You have GOT to be kidding me.  I was standing at the start thinking, you’re already late with the start, you made it sound like there was going to be a longer course and know you’re telling us it’s essentially 1.5 mile intervals?!?!  Had we not started at 8:13 AM, I might have been in a better mood.

We finally got started and because of the cold, I felt like I was hacking up a lung.  It wasn’t a horrible course, but it’s not something I would ask a bunch of people running 6.2 miles to run around 4 times.  As I finished the first lap, I made the decision to just do the 5K and run another 3.1 miles at the gym back close to where I’m staying.  I didn’t care about my time.  I didn’t care about the money, I just didn’t feel the need to push something with my marathon coming up in a week.

I know this was the first year for the race so there are kinks.  My suggestion to them is 4 laps is too much to ask for during a 10K.  Most 10Ks that are incorporated with a 5K either do an extended course or are 2 laps around the 5K course.  Some people don’t like having to do the same thing 4 times while running!  I would also suggest another location.  It looked like it was being held at some sort of retreat or park center or something along those lines.  If you’re working with a track club, I’m sure they can help you figure out more likable locations for a race.  I’ll give it room to improve since it’s the first running of it.  That, and I’ll  probably never be in KC to begin with during Halloween again

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Running the 50 States Plus Home Sweet DC

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

