Charlotte Turkey Trot 8K

Thanksgiving has come and gone and the food has been devoured.  People were doing whatever they could to not feel bad about the amount of food that was to be consumed Thursday and onward, so us runners took to the roads and had ourselves some Turkey Trots. Some were on Thanksgiving, others were this past weekend.  In Charlotte, the 23rd annual Charlotte Turkey Trot 8K was at 9 AM Thursday morning.  Perfect time AND it’s less than 10 minutes from my uncle’s house.  My uncle and sister went to pick up bibs and the snazzy long sleeved shirts on Wednesday around 3.  That worked out perfectly as no one was there and if they found they missed a bag as they were sorting through stuff, one of them could go and pick it up without waiting 20 minutes in line.  My mom and arrived around 630 Wednesday.  We drove from St Louis to Nashville, TN on Tuesday and Nashville to Charlotte on Wednesday (a grand total of 720+ miles.  My dad came in from Ohio with Olive the dog and my mom, sister and I hijaked my uncle by convincing him to take a walk with us and the dog so Dad could put up a 4 foot blow up turkey in his yard.  After uncle Tom was surprised with the Turkey, we gave him surprise #2- Happy Tomsgiving Long sleeved shirts that we would all race in on Thursday (See Thursday’s post for pictures!).

On Thursday, we prepped stuffing and turkeys before leaving for the race at 835 AM.  A grand total of 10 of us (4 Guenthers, my uncle, my aunt/uncle/cousin and my other aunt/cousin) and 2 other families from the neighborhood went over in orange long sleeved shirts (safe to say that we won’t be shot at by hunters) to SouthPark in Charlotte.  I headed closer to the front of the start to avoid the people who have no idea what they were doing.  At 9:02, we were off through the neighborhoods of Charlotte.  People were running with turkeys on their heads, dressed up as Indians, someone dressed all out as a turkey and so on.  Someone even had forks, spoons and knives taped on their outfit.  My legs were still a little tired from the NYC Marathon and my calves were burning most of the race.  Charlotte decided to be a hilly area on the map, which really didn’t help things all that much.  My goal was to beat my aunt and that’s all that really mattered.  The course shuts down half of a road which is nice, you just have to watch cars in the opposite direction, especially if you cross the double yellow line.  At the end, you go up this big hill, which I forget about every year until I come around the corner and see it.  I finished in 47:40 (a minute slower then last year) but I was expecting something over 50 minutes for some reason (I need to learn to tell time!).

This race has always been good to us.  Granted, I do think they need to come up with some sort of system to get walkers and strollers in the back, or at least the slower runners not in the front.  I appreciated the fact that I wasn’t fighting dogs on leashes this year like in past years (yes, in past years, OWD (Olive the Wonder Dog) was illegally brought to and allowed to run in the race).  The weather couldn’t have been better this year- sunny and in the 50s and we were able to get in and park and out quickly.  Definitely a race I’d suggest, just as long as we sign up before you do!

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Running the 50 States Plus Home Sweet DC

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

