Glassboro (NJ) 10 Miler Race Report

This was my first race since the Emerald Nut Run New Year’s Eve/Day Night in NYC.  I’m off to New Orleans next week and was in desperate need of a long run.  And by long run, I mean more than 7.5 miles.  I found the Glassboro 10 miler through active.com a few weeks ago.  It’s so small, it required sending in check and registration forms!!  It cost me a whole $12.  Yes, $12.  The best part? It started at 1 pm.  I had the whole morning to get stuff done around the apartment, didn’t have to get up at the crack of dawn and left around 12:10 and arrived with time to spare.

The race started and ended at Rowan University and was put on by the women’s XC coach (I think).  I picked up my shirt (which was short sleeved as opposed to long sleeved like the registration form stated.  Bummer) and then waited for my bib.  Turns out, the race was small enough that they didn’t believe in bibs, but rather, handing you index cards as you crossed the finish with your place on it.  No long sleeved shirt, no bib for my wall of fame.  2 strikes here!!  Around 12:55 (ish) we walked to the start, which turned out to be the shoulder of one of the main roads.  Yes, we were running along live traffic and I was having semi flashbacks to the Hot Mess that was the Hot Chocolate 15K.  However, this wasn’t highway roads, but rather, country (ish) roads.  I say country because it reminded me of where I grew up in Ohio.  The mile markers were spray painted in bright orange and at mile 2, the one major intersection we had to worry about was manned by someone shouting out where we were time wise.  After some water, we trucked on, myself with only one earphone in with my music going, until we hit mile 5 (and more water).  There were police watching out for us in addition to volunteers for the race series.  I grabbed some water and began my run back.  I always hate out and back courses because you know if there’s something horrible coming up, but this course wasn’t horrible.  Some hills, but nothing compared to the Quakertown hills of last year.  On the way back (around mile 3-4), I saw some older guys (old enough to be grandfathers/great grandfathers) still heading towards mile 5- Kudos to them on that one.  It was one of those runs where everything felt right.  Through out the whole thing, I forgot to check what time we actually started on my phone, so I was guessing the whole time.  Come mile 8, I got more water and found out that I was at 1:12:00 or so.  By the time I crossed the finish, I was at 1:29:46, 9 minutes or so off my Broad Street Run time of last year.

Normally I don’t stick around after races, but since it was a smaller race, I did because I thought I might actually be in the top 3 of the 20-29 yr old women group (told you it was small).  45 minutes later, and after walking to see if they missed the last place for my group, I left with a small (single serving) bottle of wine and a $30 off $75 gift certificate to a local, south Jersey running store.  Overall a successful day, topped off by me getting gas for 20-30 cents cheaper in Jersey.

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Running the 50 States Plus Home Sweet DC

Run Away With Me

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

