Stroehmann Bakeries Run Against Hunger 5K

Normally I don’t sign up for 5K’s willingly.  The last time I did a 5K was back in October and even then, I was planning on running the 10K but I wasn’t doing the same loop 4 times.  I had to come back to Philadelphia Wednesday night from Renovo, PA to take care of some things on Thursday and was told I didn’t have to drive the 4 hrs back for work on Friday.  On Friday, I headed to Philadelphia Runner to sign up for a 5 Mile race, the Gener8tion Run 8K.  If I would have read correctly, I would have gone to the correct Philadelphia Runner Store in University City.  Instead, I ended up at their Center City location (at 5:30 on a Friday, no less).  Instead, I ended up finding the Hunger Coalition 5K run and walk.  I didn’t realize I was signing up for the 5K until after I signed the waiver (I do know how to read, I promise!).  Needless to say, I had a bib and a shirt.  And, we’re talking basic bib here:

This morning, I made my way to the Art Museum steps.  I parked my car about 1/2 mile away from the start.  Worked for me since I wanted to do around 8 miles anyways.  I ran about 5 minutes to the start and waited about 10 minutes before the race started.  When we lined up, we were waiting for a gun or horn start.  However, we heard something on the microphone and a buzzer and we were off, something we weren’t expecting.  We were shocked by the quick start.  Off we went down Kelly Drive and hit some Irish Step Dancers before mile 1.  A short time later, we hit the turnaround point at a little over 1.55 miles.  I was at roughly 12-13 minutes at the halfway point.  I began making my way back on some sore legs after a 7.5 mile run yesterday.  Back, past Boat House Row, the Irish Step Dancers, the traffic on I 76.  We crossed the path leading up to the Art Museum and up a slight incline to where we started.  The clock read just under 26 minutes.  I finished in 26:12, 17th/135 in my age group of 20-29 yo females.  Woot!!  I grabbed a water and got some hydration and made the 1/2 mile run back to my car.

Afterwards, I went and finished another 4 miles, grand total of 8 for the day.  If only I would have been able to read and go to the correct Philadelphia Runner to sign up for the 5 mile (and not the 5K) race I wanted.  Lesson of the day: check your location!

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

One Response to Stroehmann Bakeries Run Against Hunger 5K

  1. Pingback: Stroeman bakeries | Barefootseo

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Running the 50 States Plus Home Sweet DC

Run Away With Me

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

