Narberth CF 5 Miler

After last weekend’s issue of not paying enough attention to detail and going to the wrong place to register a race, I made up for it this weekend.  I was (luckily) able to come home from my rotation in Renovo, PA a day early and was googling what to do this weekend.  I found the Narberth CF 5 Miler last weekend on Active, but had kept it in the back of my head since I didn’t know what my plans would be.  Yesterday, I made the 10 minute drive to Narberth to register and pick up my bib since it’s not a regular occurrence to have races over 5 miles or so.  That, and it was practically in my backyard and for a good cause, so how could I say no?

This morning, I left around 8:10 to have enough time to park (hey, it’s the Philadelphia area, parking is always a problem).  Since I’m familiar with the area, I knew there was a shopping center with a parking lot close by and I (along with a whole bunch of people) parked over there.  Since I was planning to do more than 5 miles, I pulled up RunKeeper on my phone and just started running and warming up.  After 1.75 miles, I headed to the start.  This was one of the more organized races I’ve run.  They had stuff to keep the kids entertained, you knew where to go, and better yet, it was small.  A few minutes after 9, we were off.  The course was one of those runs where you go through side streets to get your miles in, or at least that’s how it felt.  There were also more hills than I thought there would be, but I don’t run out there often (OK, so this was the first time).  My first 3 miles or so, I was running just under 9 minute miles and I was excited because it was turning out to be a fast course, despite the hills.  Then, I have no idea what happen.  I got somewhat shaky and didn’t feel right.  This is one of those you should probably eat something before you run or hydrate more.  By the time I got to mile 4, I had run a 10 minute split but was able to get myself together.  I made up some time and survived some more hills to finish in 46:03, at 9:12 minute/mile pace.  A 5 mile/8K PR for me :-).  What I liked about this race was the amount of people who came out for it, especially for a small race (all of 690 ish runners).  At one point, some guy came running out of his house shirtless (but wearing shorts) to cheer on runners.  Little kids had water stands set up for runners along the course and people had come up with teams supporting friends of theirs.  It reminded me why I like the smaller races :-).

The weather was also perfect.  It was in the low 60s ish, but it felt humid to me.  I was sweating buckets (or so it felt like) by the time I finished.  Water and some bananas/oranges at the finish made me feel better.  I still haven’t figured out why I felt bad during that one mile stretch.  It wasn’t the runner’s wall that I’ve felt before, but just shakiness and feeling off.  As much as I didn’t feel like racing today, I liked this race.  Local, for a good cause, kids race after the main race and a local restaurant was giving away a free beer to runners who came in with their bibs.  Take a look at them, definitely a race to do!  Did you run?  Run the Day has results posted!

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Running the 50 States Plus Home Sweet DC

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

