St. Luke’s Half Marathon

Currently, my car probably hates me.  I’ve put about 1,200 miles on it in the span of 5 ish days.  I’ve seen more of I-80 than I’d like, but what can you do.  This weekend (read, Friday around noon), I headed back to Philadelphia.  Had I not had packages that involved Mother’s Day presents and a half marathon, I would have probably not gone home.  I got back around 7, though I was bummed out that the expo wasn’t going on Friday, because I literally passed Allentown on my way home.  After dropping stuff off at the condo, I headed to the gym for a quick run to stretch my legs out.  I can only take so much sitting in one setting.

Saturday morning, I headed back up to Allentown to pick up my bib number (#2454) and searched the expo.  I so happen to run into Kathrine Switzer’s booth.  SUCH a nice person! She greeted me with a hug and spent about 5-10 minutes talking with me.  It was awesome because she was talking to someone before me who had lost 125 lbs by diet and exercise who was running her first half.  Needless to say, Kathrine, myself and a few others were giving her the advice to enjoy the race.  Hearing about her running Boston and the women who came after who ran until it finally became acceptable for women to run was incredible.  I got both of her books and began reading Marathon Woman last night.

This morning, I left Philly (with my stuff that I was taking back to Ohio) around 6 AM to get to Allentown and parked.  I stopped for gas before I got to the race and there were other runners utilizing the bathrooms there (great minds think alike).  After parking at the fairgrounds, I headed over to Allen High School to hang out in the gym before the start.  At 8, we headed to the start.  It was fairly chilly out- I had cheap gloves that I bought at the expo that I kept on for the first 5 miles or so.  Kathrine Switzer started the race and off we went.  I felt ok the first few miles, but felt like I was falling apart around mile 3 after I took a bathroom break.  We saw the leaders come circling back around the 5K mark.  We kept on chugging along the streets and then crossed over a bridge and before you know it, mile 6 comes along and slams you with a hill.  A massive hill that felt like it was at like a 30 degree incline that didn’t want to end.  I’ve been training for the Cap City Half in Columbus (which is flat), so I’ve had limited (read absolutely ZERO) hills in my runs.  One guy actually asked if I was ok (which was appreciated).  It also felt like we had 4 miles of hills.  Did I mention that we spent a good chunk of miles 7-10/11 were on gravel trails?  I was beyond thrilled to get back on solid roads.  After hitting mile 12, knowing we were almost done was a bonus.  Until I overheard someone saying there was one last hill leading into the stadium and we had to a lap- I was less than thrilled.  The hill wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be and I ended up passing 4-5 people by then.  I was surprised that I crossed the finish in 2:09 ish.  My final time was 2:07:38- I was expecting to worse to be honest!!  I grabbed a water and picked up my back of stuff I checked and got stretched out by the PT people.  Best thing about the race? SHOWERS AT THE FINISH! Since we finished at a stadium, there were locker rooms.  Locker rooms have showers- this meant I didn’t have go to LA Fitness to shower.  The water was a little cold, but sweatshirts were invented for a reason.  I grabbed some food and hit the road.

In 6 days, I do it all again in Columbus.  And, I have a mission to accomplish- whether it happens, is TBD!

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Eating Plants and Running the 50 States

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

