Ben Moore Memorial Half Marathon

Oh Maryland.  I knew I’d have to face your daggon hills eventually in order to get you checked off for my 50 state half marathon list.  I’m glad you’re done and over with!!  So how did I get to running the Ben Moore Memorial 1/2 Marathon?  On Wednesday, I reached out to a board prep course that I took to see if they needed any help for a review course that just started up this week.  Thursday, they asked if I could come do a rapid review of sorts on Sunday (ie tomorrow).  Since I hate flying out of Philadelphia and flying out of Baltimore/BWI was cheaper, I searched for any longer run races in the area.  Enter the Ben Moore Half Marathon in Annapolis.  That was only $35!!!  I signed up and drove out last night and conveniently stayed at a hotel around the corner from the start which was super nice.  I drove around historic Annapolis, stopped at the US Navy Academy and walked around.  Side note, if you ever need running shoes and are around a military academy and no running store, check their bookstore (I got my shoes for $25 off!!).  After checking in to the hotel, I went and got dinner and drinks for $10. Gotta love happy hour!!!  The area I ate at was at a town center and they had Friday night concerts going on so I hung around to hear some of it.  After heading back to the hotel and laying out my clothes, I chilled out and watched me some Olympics (I felt soooo bad for Morgan Uceny who was tripped up in the last lap of the 1500m!!)

This morning, I woke up around 6:15 and changed before heading out to the start.  I picked up my bib and got  myself situated (no expo for this race which in a way, was nice).  This was a smaller, local race with a few hundred people.  I tried something different and ran with a fuel belt, something I’ve never done before (I don’t like a lot on me when I run).  Part of it was due to there being water/gatorade every 2 miles or so and I wanted something on me since I wasn’t familiar with the area.  A little after 7:35 the race started.  A recurring theme was what goes down must come up (instead of what goes up must go down).  There were so many hills! And I hate hills in general, but I guess that comes with running in Maryland.  The roads weren’t closed down so we were running against traffic and parts of it hit major (or so it seemed) roads.  At the big intersections, there were people stopping traffic for us which is always appreciated.  I was a fan of the fact that there weren’t a lot of spectators for the race.  I was in one of the moods where I just wanted it to be me and the roads, but needed something to actually get me to go run (ie a race).  However, at the points where you needed motivation, people were following us with signs and cheering us on).  The first 2 miles and the last 2 miles seemed to have the worst hills and since mile 1-2 was mile 11.5 ish-13, you knew what was coming at you on the way back.  At one point while grudgingly going up a hill, I looked behind me and there was a single file line of people walking the monster of a hill (or what we thought was a monster since our legs were screaming).  I was never so glad to see mile 13 and then the finish.  Another check off the 50 state bucket list that’s for sure!

The race chips were from running stone age.  You know, the ones that you have to tie into your shoe laces and have to give back or pay a fine?  The ones pre dating D and B tags??  Try bending over to untie your shoes after this race to get it off.  I finished about 2;17 something.  The humidity got to me some and I was feeling a little nauseous after the race.  Chocolate milk would have been really good actually.  Overall, great local race that’s cheap with awesome organizers and volunteers.  Proceeds benefit a local charity, this year for breast cancer.  Gotta say, do a small race every once in awhile 🙂

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Running the 50 States Plus Home Sweet DC

Run Away With Me

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

