Philadelphia Zoo Triple Threat 5 Miler

Sitting and doing nothing this weekend, I decided I needed to do something.  With the Philadelphia Half Marathon coming up in a few weeks, I wanted a race to do to keep me in some sort of groove.  Last night, I found the Philadelphia Zoo Triple Threat 5 Miler.  Besides, nothing beats finding a race that starts at 8:30 and we get an extra hour of sleep to boot thanks to Daylight Savings!  Oh, and registration included zoo admission and part of the proceeds benefited Bringing Hope Home, an organization that financially helps pay bills, etc for cancer patients who are struggling to make ends meat.

I woke up around 7:15 and my covers were trying to convince me to stay in bed (yes, one of those type of chilly days).  The zoo is maybe 10 minutes from me so even though I left at 7:40, I was there, parked and walking in by 8.  Gotta love race day registration (though $40 seems a little much for a 5 mile race).  Part of the price included admission to the zoo after the race.  An interesting part of this sucker is that there was a 3 person relay option (essentially, each person ran 1.67 miles).  Timing chips were pre D tag (you know, the ones you tie into your shoe laces) and it was a bibless race!  After a quick sprint back to my car to drop off my shirt, we headed into the zoo where we learned that we had 6 laps around one of the paths in the zoo. Great. Wonderful. Thank goodness for music.

I would say there was maybe 50 (ish) runners total so pretty low key, which is nice every once in awhile.  The start of the race entailed one of the workers from the Chester County Running Company saying “Ready, Go” over a bull horn (hey, it works).  Off we went, around some monkeys, a pond, some shut down exhibits.  I think there were some birds and some sort of reindeer looking things.  I was doing OK, but I think the 6 lap thing wore out it’s welcome.  That and you were keeping track of your own laps.  I became really familiar with some Dr. Seuss and The Lorax signs and the beeping of the mat as your timing chip crossed over it.

By the time I crossed the finish, the time read 52:10.  Either I ran horribly or the course was long.  Something didn’t reel right about it though.  It was me or them, I’m not really sure!!  Sigh. I wish I had a better reason, but I got nothing.  It was a good last minute race and hey, if you stuck around you could see whatever you wanted in the zoo.  I, however, was cold and had another 2-3 miles I wanted to get in at the gym in front of some SportsCenter.

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

4 Responses to Philadelphia Zoo Triple Threat 5 Miler

  1. Hi there! I stumbled across this blog while searching for results of this race on Google. I too found the timing weird. I have been running different races for a year now and noted that my time was 10 minutes longer than usual. At first I thought I was having a bad run, but then my coworker (who ran this with me) said the same thing. We were thinking it may have been longer than 5 miles. Either way, it was a fun morning. I just wish I payed more attention during my laps so I could see some animals. I love the zoo!

    • drrunner says:

      Annette, glad I’m not the only one who thought it was off! I was a good 5-6 minutes off my normal 5 mile time and I thought the course was long. At least it was a good time though and the weather was good.

  2. Ana Traversa says:

    Hey there — I ran this too. Talked to a guy who was wearing a GPS and confirmed that the 6 laps totaled 5.75 miles. Waaaay off. I also knew there was something wrong; I kept my usual pace and should have done between 47 and 48′; instead I finished in the early 50’s.
    The poor organization in places just pissed me off. OK, the loop around the zoo was well-marked, and there were people telling us where to turn every time. But nobody warned us that we’d have to pay a hefty parking fee at the zoo or given us parking alternatives — and we’d already paid more than enough for registration. Then, there was only *one* available restroom; it was a very good thing it ended up being a very small race, or we’d have been in trouble.

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Eating Plants and Running the 50 States

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

