Columbus 10K

After a month plus of not racing, I was finally back on the pavement.  I drove to my parents house Saturday afternoon for the weekend and joined my mom at the Columbus 10K Sunday morning.  For being one of the older races in Columbus, this is one I’ve never done.  We left around 7:15 and met up with a friend of my mom’s who also ran the race. The race started at COSI and we ended up arriving an hour early.  At least COSI let us use their indoor bathrooms as many times as we wanted.

The morning started with a kids fun run, so they got 600+ people cheering for them.  After the kid’s race gun went off, there was one kid flying through and everyone thought that he was the only one running.  Until the rest of the group came running behind them.

The 10K started at 9 and it was starting to warm up even before we started.  We headed out on some of the side streets before hitting Columbus.  We passed Northern Market (really good food there for lunch and dinner) and into parts of residential Columbus.  The first water stop about 1.25 miles in was appreciated.  Especially since the next one wasn’t until mile 3.  A bulk of the race was on the Olentangy River trail.  I have to admit, with the temperature rising, the shade of the trail was so appreciated.  I’ve never run on the Olentangy Trail, but it’s a nice trail to have. Except for the parts where the highway is the next door neighbor.  I was holding out ok, but started to slow down a bit because of the heat.  I was ahead of the 9min pace group for awhile and ended up being passed by them.  At mile 5, we had a group of kids passing out water at the last rest stop.  I finished up the last mile or so on the trail, with the .2 finishing along the river next to COSI.  Instead of finishing across where we started, we finished parallel to it, which seemed kind of odd.

THe Columbus 10K gives out medals and pancakes, I can’t ask for more from a race that’s for sure.  After finding my mom, we saw a runner that my mom knew from local races down for the count.  EMTs were helping them out and then the “My kid’s a doctor and can help” line was pulled.  My advice was given and the right thing was done (thankfully).  A shower at home never felt so good, that’s for sure.  I wish the race started 1/2 hr- 1 hr sooner just because of the heat (and it was as hot or hotter last year).  Definitely a race to do and well run by the Columbus Running Company!

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Running the 50 States Plus Home Sweet DC

Run Away With Me

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

