Perfect 10 Miler

When there’s a 10 miler in your back yard, you’d be crazy not to sign up for it.  I found the Perfect 10 Miler in Lyndhurst, about 15 minutes from me.  I signed up Wednesday thinking it would be a good race for time.  Come Thursday, I was invited to the Steelers- Giants game in Pittsburgh Saturday night.  So, Saturday at 4:30, I headed off to Pittsburgh for a 7:30 PM game.  We ended up not leaving until after 11 PM and I ended up not falling asleep until after 2 AM.  That’s an issue when a race has a 7:30 race time.

I woke up around 6:30 and was out the door by 7.  I was in the mindset of “the only reason why I’m still running this is I need a long run and I paid $45 for the race.”  I got to the start about 2 minutes before the gun went off and started off ok.  Luckily, Lyndhurst is on the relatively flat side of things in Cleveland.  The effects of not enough sleep were felt starting 3 miles in.  I would have done the 5K, but $45 seemed a lot to pay to switch to a 5K, so you keep on chugging.  around 4.5-5 miles we were on the part of the course that was out and back.  A runner in front of me kept yelling and cheering for everyone she knew coming the opposite way.  The sleep deprivation was making me grumpy and I was annoyed every time this happened.  As we wound back through the side streets of Lyndhurst, the thought of one more mile kept me going.  As much as I hate tracks, I was glad to get back to the high school track to the finish.

Today’s race was the 10th anniversary of the Perfect 10 Miler.  They got something going for them because you don’t have a lot of them out there.  The weather was perfect and the route was well marked for a smaller, local race.  You also have to love the amount of police out helping with traffic control.   Best part of the race: the smiley face cookie at the end.  Next time though, I’ll plan on more than 4.5 hrs of sleep before a race.

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Eating Plants and Running the 50 States

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

