The Nationwide Columbus Marathon (in Review)

It’s been a week and I’m finally back in the world of the living.  On 10/20/13, 18,000 runners took to the streets of Columbus, OH to take in some pavement.  For me, it was marathon #5 and probably the one I trained the least for and I can thank residency for that one.  I left work about 3 pm and headed from Cleveland to the Expo and it took about 1/2 hr longer than it should have.  I can thank 2 stalled vehicles along 71 over the course of a mile for that one.  I did a power pick up my bib and shirt and stop at a few booths sort of day.  The plus side of the expo was that I could exchange shirt for a different size as long as that size was available.  I headed to Lancaster and got a massage (thanks mom!!) .

Saturday rolled around and I got some errands done.  I went up to my sister’s and dropped my bag and my laptop.  We headed off to the OSU- Iowa game.  Thankfully, the rain that decided to come Saturday morning disappeared and avoided the game, but that didn’t prevent it from staying cold.

Sunday was marathon day.  Thankfully, my sister’s place was a little over a mile from the start.  I walked over, which bought me an hour more of sleep and a nice laugh of drivers who were sitting in traffic and trying to find parking.  I checked a bag that had some warmer post race clothing in it and made my way to some port a potties and corrals.  The race started at 7:30 in front of the State House and I crossed the start about 8 minutes later.  There was a whole bottle neck of runners since both the half and full marathoners started together.  Since the Columbus Marathon benefits Nationwide Children’s Hospital, each mile was dedicated to an inspirational kid.  It was so fun to see the kids with their families and friends and their different themes.  There was superman, bumble bees and a whole host of funness.  The foam fingers were awesome!  The first few miles were very flat and you forget that the weather is a bit on the chilly side.  Come miles 4-5, I ran past my old high school.  Holy Construction CSG!  About a mile later, we ran past Graeter’s Ice Cream.  I so wished I could have stopped!

We ran by Capital U, down some slight hills and back on part of the course we’d already hit up.  Next up was German Village.  I gotta love the houses with like 40 people tailgating for Sunday football with their front doors open cheering on runners.  It makes the day so much more fun!  After miles 10, 11 and 12, I was still feeling pretty good.  No wall yet and the crowds were in full force.  Come about mile 12.5, the half marathoners split off and headed towards Nationwide Arena and Downtown Columbus.  I hated seeing the “You’re Almost Finished”…except when there’s 13+ miles left.  Come mile 14.5, my mom met up with me and ran for a bit with me.  Thankfully she had some water with her too.  Come mile 16, I started picking up Gatorade in addition to water.  After mile 17 and some bridges, we hit the Horseshoe.  Looks sooooo empty without 105,000 screaming fans:

OSU Stadium

OSU Stadium

After mile 18-19, it was all down hill.  I said hello to the Marathon Wall.  My legs were dead and I could feel the lack of training catching up with me.  We began through the scenic part of the run and even The Big Bang Theory posters (Bazinga!) couldn’t help me out.  The miles dragged on, but at mile 23, there were oranges, gummy bears, candy and pepsi max (if only they had Coke Products!).  The last few miles were through Victorian Village.  People were out and it was painful to see finishers coming back towards you.  At mile 25, you knew you were almost done.  I felt bad though for the runner down who needed paramedics.  with less than a mile to go, I passed a first timer and promised we were really almost done.  You could here the finish a mile away.  We came up on the last 1/4 mile and I began passing people.  I refused to let people finishing together and holding hands pass me.

I finished in 4:55:41.  Not my best but hey, Marathon #5 is in the books.  I liked being able to walk through the finish and they hand you your medal, water and a bag of food.  I picked up my bag and aimed to meet up with my mom.  She gave me a ride back to my sister’s and some pumpkin Tidbits and I hit a shower before heading back to Cleveland.

Bottom line: Run Columbus, It’s Kind of A Big Deal. You get to run through The ‘Shoe and you have a good time!

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Eating Plants and Running the 50 States

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

