Summit Athletic Running Club Shamrock 15K

What a change 24 hrs make.  After leaving my race yesterday, I headed into Summit County to pick up my bib/packet for the Shamrock 15K, put on by Summit Athletic Running Club.  A 15K race is rare in general, and with the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler in DC a few weeks away, I needed a long run.  It was 20 degrees colder today and flurrying when I left my apartment for the race.  It was a noon race and that was one of the few pluses of the race.

I arrived about 15 minutes prior to the start and silly me, thought my arm warmers that pulled over my hands would keep my hands warm all race.  Runners were lined up about 5-7 minutes before the gun went off.  It was all roads of Summit County, which I didn’t think would be too bad.  I must have forgotten my drive to Blossom Music back in August and the hills back there.  The ‘Ready, Set, Go’ start was at noon promptly and off we went.  The race also has a 5K that started at some point after us.  The first 2-3 miles were decent.  No issues, no problems.  I felt good enough to pass up the first water station.  After we passed mile 4, we made a turn and enter the illusion of a hill.  Only, it was no illusion.  It was a 1/2 mile hill, all up hill.  We were promised no more hills, only we got about another 2 miles of hills.  Who’s bright idea was that??  There were a good amount of water stops around the way, but the 2 miles of hills really brought my time down because of how steep they were.  Most of us were miserable by that point.  We were also running into the issue of vehicles.  The entire race was on open, active roads.  Some parts had volunteers or police directing traffic.  Somewhere close to mile 7, a pretty decent stretch was blocked off by cones.  The issue was, that traffic coming towards us runners (who were running towards traffic), was that they weren’t paying attention to the cones and kept using they lanes.  We were down to running single file along the median (not the safest race if ever run).  I was glad for about 1/2 mile when we turned off for a bit and out of traffic for a bit.  By the time I finished, my finish time was about that of my 10 mile times.  Cold and hills slow me down like no other.  I usually like one or the other, not both together.  At least we got water and medals at the finish.

Afterwards, since the race started/finished at the elementary school, I went into the gym to warm up.  Other runners were commenting on the vehicle issues and apparently a fight nearly broke out when a volunteer waved a car through and the driver got upset about something, did a u turn down the road and came back.  Thankfully, there was soup and snacks, but they were out of hot chocolate (and coffee) by the time a decent amount of 15K runners got back (I have no problem with 5k runners having some, but leave some for the rest of us).  As I put it to someone, today was about 0% enjoyable, 10% safe and not something I’d likely come back for unless the car issue was dealt with and it was warmer.  Guess I’m not having luck with running 15K races!

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Running the 50 States Plus Home Sweet DC

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

