The Perfect 10 Miler

After taking a little bit of time off from racing (3 races in a week can be a bit much), I’m back!  Today was a local race- The Perfect 10 Miler.  It changed locations in terms of start/ finish compared to last year and had a change in course.

After sleeping maybe 2-3 hrs last night (darn insomnia), I was up at 645 and was out the door by 7.  I appreciate a 10 minute drive to the start.  Benefit of having the start at Legacy Village? Plenty of parking.  I had picked up my bib yesterday so there was no worrying about finding those shinnanegans.  I was able to run to the bathroom before the gun went off (always a plus).

The 10 mile gun when off right at 730 and we weaved through the roads of the mall and part of the Cleveland Clinic satellite site which is next door for the first 2 miles or so.  We met up with the street and then it was like a tour of Lyndhurst schools in the area.  Hawken, Brush, a school that looked shut down.  I wasn’t a fan of using part of Brush HS’s track for a random 1/10-2/10 of a mile- it really made no sense.  It flattened out for a few miles, but there were some mild hills that snuck in.  We doubled back and repeated parts of the course, including the last 2 miles back to Legacy Village.  I liked it when the hills here were downhill!  Water was well placed every 1.25-1.5 ish miles, but definitely not over or under done.  I crossed around 1:37:47.2, a decent race for me given that my last few races have been fairly crappy.  The good thing is I ran 1:38:21.3 last year, so I improved by 34 seconds from last year (woohoo!).

Post race was meh.  We got medals (same design, only changes were the ribbon color and the date on the medal) and there was only powerade and water at the end.  You could check your race results right there, which was nice.  I felt for the runner in front of me as he was looking up his time though.  A spectator was looking up friends’ times, but began checking times before the guy who actually ran had the chance to see his time.  I was at least able to give it to him, which he appreciated. Rule of thumb, no matter who you are, wait in line to check times!

I wondered back to my car before heading into LA Fitness (yay gym membership) to take the post race $1,000,000 shower.  I was too lazy to drive the 10 minutes home to shower, so why not take advantage of the gym?  Another decent race- if you sign up early, it’s only $35! 

About drrunner
8 time marathoner, 65 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. BibRave Pro, Doctor and a mix of insanity

One Response to The Perfect 10 Miler

  1. joyceguenther says:

    Love the million dollar shower! And faster time!

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Eating Plants and Running the 50 States

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

