Hotlanta Half Marathon- the 3 H’s of ATL

Any normal medicine resident would enjoy a weekend off and sleep in, do absolutely nothing and chill out.  I take runcations in order to cross off states from my 1/2 Marathon list.  This past weekend I headed to ATL for the Hotlanta Half Marathon to knock out Georgia.

I left Friday afternoon from Akron (direct and cheaper flights than CLE).  I got in early and made my to my hotel.  I checked into my hotel and got comfortable.  It would be probably the only good day at my hotel.  I wondered around and found some Latin food for dinner and tortured a friend of mine who was working nights at the hospital.

Saturday morning I woke up and did a light work out in the hotel gym with the dysfunctional treadmill.  After a quick workout, I went to shower and found the bathroom ceiling leaking water.  Yay me!  When I went for breakfast, I got cereal and some milk and as I went to eat.  However, the milk was spoiled.  So nasty.  I gave up on food and headed to pick up my packet from the running store.  I visited some sites around ATL, got some dinner and headed off to bed, but was truly an insomniac for half the night.

Sunday, I woke up around 6:45 and headed to the start about 1/2 a mile from my hotel at the Underground.  We were off and running promptly at 730 and it was already hot and humid.  It wasn’t much longer before I was introduced to the hills of Atlanta.  Note, I hate, hate, hate hills.  We were taken around the baseball stadium, through some neighborhoods and taken onto a bike path.  I was glad we had a few miles of flatness during miles 3-6.  We got off the path and then were introduced to some more hills.  So painful, especially going into miles 8-9.  When it’s in the 70s-80s and humid, you’re just trying to finish.  I turned off my garamin towards the end because I was just trying to finish and the course was coming up short on my garmin (by a good 1/3 mile).

Overall, there was water every mile, which was so needed this race.  It would have been nice if the start time was moved up half an hour or so.  I get it’s an inaugural race, but there wasn’t a whole lot of crowd support.  Additionally, there were mile markers, but no clocks telling you the time.  Swag had a good amount of flyers in it and some good freebies.  If you’re not a hills fan, wouldn’t recommend ATL in general just because they’re notorious for them…overall- kind of undecided about this race.

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

One Response to Hotlanta Half Marathon- the 3 H’s of ATL

  1. Oy, tough race because of the weather.

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Eating Plants and Running the 50 States

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

