Columbus Half Marathon

What better way to cap off a week of nights than to drive to Columbus for a weekend of football, food and running!  I finished day (or night) 7/7 yesterday morning and drove to Columbus from Cleveland.  The perk of being the senior resident is that if things aren’t insanely busy, I can pass off admits to the interns and sleep if we get any.  I napped for about 2-3 hours overnight and headed out around 10 AM.  Since my parents lived in Lancaster and my body gets thrown off with nights, I stayed in Columbus for the race so it’d only be a 10-15 min drive max.  My mom had picked up my bib from the expo on Friday when she volunteered and met me at the hotel.  We picked up my dad and headed off to the OSU-Rutgers game at The Shoe.  We had some entertaining Rutgers fans in front of us (who boo Rutgers more than we did apparently) and enjoyed another OSU win.  We went to dinner afterwards with my sister, some of her friends and a fellow resident who was running the full. I promptly passed out at 10 pm.

This morning, we were up by 5:15/5:20.  Mom was volunteering again from 6-10AM, but got free parking ridiculously close to the finish line.  I hung out in the car until about 7:10 before hopping out to go use the bathroom.  I showed my bib to get into the corrals and was able to be in and out of the bathroom in about 5 minutes.  Anyone who says the line was too long, you didn’t have to wait in the line for the first like 3 port a potties, people were getting in line for individual port a potties towards the middle!  I made my way to Corral B and off we went.  Wheel Chair racers started at 7:27 and the rest of the field at 7:30.  The start was at North Bank Park this year instead of closer to the arena district, which I thought was a good change.  People were out cheering and excited for runners.  Though, if I weren’t a runner, I might be annoyed with the amount of noise we make.  Sorry!!  For a good 2.5-3 miles, it was a straight line.  We passed by St. Charles school and made some turns into Bexley and passed my old high school (CSG).  Running through Bexley made me think of the runs we had to do for any sort of athletic team.  We passed Graeter’s ice cream (which sounded so good) and turned onto Main street.  We kept on chugging along and passed Children’s Hospital around mile 8 or 9.  As we headed towards the split where marathoners kept going and 1/2 marathoners went towards the finish, there was a sign that showed how you know you’re in Buckeye Country:
“You’re running faster than Hoke’s Offense.” That’s about right.  By mile 12.5, we split from the full marathon runners around 12.5 miles in and headed in to the finish.  I finished right as the second place marathoner was finishing.  I can say I won something right?

With the change in location, the finish was more spread out, which was appreciated.  You weren’t stepping all over people.  We got our warmers and then came to the medals- they were literally bringing the boxes in as I was getting there.  We were telling the volunteers to hand them as they were (still in boxes, still in the individually wrapped plastic).  What had happened was the order for the medals had been placed earlier this summer.  They were shipped and got stuck in a typhoon, which held up their delivery (my mom had talked with one of the Committee Members on Friday who had found out Thursday or Friday about the medals typhoon issue).  As I was walking towards the food, I was sending people back towards the medals since my wave of people must have been some of the first to get them.  I got to food and met up with my mom and we headed out.  After a shower at the hotel, I headed to Lancaster- can’t pass up the free laundry while I’m this close to home!!

Overall, I liked the course changes and the start and finish.  Please don’t get on the committee for the medals- they can’t help a typhoon was holding up the medals.  An overall well run race!!!  I’m kinda glad I was able to get a transferred bib

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Running the 50 States Plus Home Sweet DC

Run Away With Me

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

