Product Review: Zensah Ultra Compression Sleeves

Disclaimer: I received a pair of Zensah Ultra Compression Sleeves to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!

Earlier this year, I became part of the BibRave Pro team. BibRave is an online website where runners can go and review races of any distance (the good, the bad and the down right ugly) so other runners can get a feel if they like a race. As part of being a pro, we occasionally get things to try out, so when there was a chance to give some Zensah compression sleeves, I was a little excited to say the least.

I have a pair of Zensah sleeves that I use primarily for post race recovery, especially after my long runs. Some of the benefits of compression sleeves? Me personally, I typically get less soreness and more muscle support and wear them for increased circulation (don’t hate me for bringing in some of the medical knowledge).

Compression sleeves can be worn during and/or after activity, which is a plus.  Last week, my new bright yellow Zensah Ultras popped up in the mail and to say surprises are always fun is an understatement

Zensah Ultra Compression Sleeves

Zensah Ultra Compression Sleeves

When I first tried them on, I felt like they were a little on the tighter side compared to what I normally like and I was debating if I got the correct size or if I should have gone a size bigger.  My other pairs I have seemed to be at a good comfort level for me. I wore them out and around and then for a little bit of a run. I know a fair amount of runners who love the sleeves when they run and I normally agree with the idea of compression during running. However, personally, if I’m doing something compressive during a run, I prefer an all out sock rather than sleeves and socks. It’s more of just personal preference for me that I’ve developed over the past few years.

I have worn these little suckers around the house after runs and love them. After reading up on them a bit, yeah they’re going to be on the tighter side due to them being ‘ultra’ compression sleeves (hence why they felt smaller to me), and for me, their more of a post run sleeve rather than a during run sleeve fore me. Another plus (especially if you’re on the shorter side) is that at least on 5’2″ me, they don’t bunch around the ankles or the knees (yes I’ve had issues with other sleeves that do this).

IMG_0773

The Pros

  • Decent sizing in the eyes of a 5’2″ runner
  • Decent compression, especially for the post run compression
  • Comparable Pricing
  • Even if you’re not a fan of ultra sleeves, Zensah has socks, sleeves and other gear

The Cons (not a whole lot)

  • If you’re taller, you might not get as good of length in the sleeves depending on how you like them (maybe different ‘height’ options would be something to consider?)
  • Initially seemed too tight, but that went away when the sleeves were worn for a bit

Check out Zensah, they’ll respond to ya if you contact them!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/zensahsports

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Zensah

Instagram: https://instagram.com/zensah/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/zensah/

BibRave-DeepOrange-Gray-01

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

One Response to Product Review: Zensah Ultra Compression Sleeves

  1. Pingback: Product Review: Zensah Thigh Sleeve | drrunner

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Eating Plants and Running the 50 States

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

