Race Review: Buckeye Half Marathon

Who signs up for a half marathon on their birthday? This girl. I was looking for a race after not heading to SC last weekend [OSU football took priority] for Myrtle Beach and I was able to sign up for $45 a week before the race.

The Buckeye Half Marathon was in Cuyahoga Falls, OH, a nice 40 minute drive Sunday morning. Bonus points for also having a 2 person relay team for runners to choose from as well. I didn’t have a chance to pick up my packet the day before, so I got to the start around 7:40 to pick up my bib. Instead of shirts, you had the opportunity to pick a sweatshirt or jacket. I have a thing for sweatshirts, so…you know.

I also appreciate the 8 AM start time. It was on the chilly side at the start. I actually grabbed my gloves out of my car before walking down to the start line. And forgot my garmin in my car at the same time.

The course itself was a 2 loop course. Primarily on roads, we still had to deal with the occasional cars coming onto the course. Some of those people didn’t know how to slow down. Police and volunteers were on course the entire time and directed traffic around us, which was good. Definitely some hills at this one, but I’ve seen some worse hills. One of the bigger issues I had was the uneven pavement. I felt like I had to watch my feet sometimes. Volunteers from Walsh Jesuit and another area High School were manning the water stops, which were every 2 miles or so. As you were finishing the second loop, you were directed into the park towards the finish line. My big issue was the gravel for a good 1/10 mile. Things just felt all uneven.

A good 2:30:52 ish time. Ohio shaped medals for all finishers and gym bags for top 3 in each age group and overall finishers. They also had soup, bananas and bread food wise. Cups of water for all- wish they would have had bottles!

Overall, a well run race by the Summit Athletic Running Club. It’s a very scenic race with a little over 400 runners. Definitely a race to consider, especially for a later fall marathon if you’re training for one!

About drrunner
6 time marathoner, 40 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. New title of BibRave Pro member so watch for discounts and products! Do what you love and love what you do!

Leave a Reply

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Running the 50 States Plus Home Sweet DC

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Kara Runs

Wellness. Happiness. Balance. Motivation. Encouragement.

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear The Hat

Because I don't just report the news...No, actually, that's it. I just report sports news.

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...

f my injury [dot] com

Screw being hurt. It's time to get healthy.

