Bibrave Review: 2XU Hyoptik 3/4 Length Thermal Tights

Disclaimer: I received a pair of 2XU Hyoptik Thermal 3/4 Length Tights to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!

It’s currently winter in Cleveland and who would have thunk that we would have had 50-60* weather in December and less snow in January than what the East Coast got hit with this weekend. I had the chance to try some 2XU thermal tights which I utterly love! I tried a pair of 2XU  MCS compression tights not so long ago and was excited to try them again.

We were given the option of 3/4 length or Full Length. I opted for the 3/4th length because I often get overly hot in full tights and full tights often don’t fit me right in the ankles.

First of all, these nice little things are warm! I know there were some pros that thought they didn’t cut it on the warmness front, but I felt like I could wear them in 20* weather without any problem. I got to wear them in Spokane, WA for a short little run when it was on the chilly side and I felt like they did the job just fine. I was also a fan of the waist band on this pair of capris. I felt like it fit better than the MCS tights I tried out a few months ago.

In general, here’s the good stuff about these tights

  • Thermal (read warm)
  • 3.5 cm flat waist band
  • pocket in the waist band
  • Compression
  • Hyoptik reflection logos for better visibility

Another way to use the Hyoptik tights is to use them as a base layer with an additional layer over them for added warmth. This could be for those who get cold easily or for those in negative degree areas (holla Alaska!).

Downside to 2XU?

  • A tad high maintenance in the washing department. I always have to be on the look out since they can’t go through the drier
  • Mine seemed a tad small and I got a size up (a medium). They did the job, but I felt like I was pulling at them a little bit more than necessary.
  • A tad pricey. Anywhere between $99-$130 depending on what length you got

As far as I’m concerned, good compression is a must. I’ll continue going back for some 2XU. Please join us for #Bibchat on 1/26 with 2XU at 9EST/8 CST pm!

About drrunner
8 time marathoner, 65 ish time 1/2 marathoner with a bucket list item to hit all 50 states. BibRave Pro, Doctor and a mix of insanity

4 Responses to Bibrave Review: 2XU Hyoptik 3/4 Length Thermal Tights

  1. Pingback: Review: 2XU Run Hyoptik Mid Rise Thermal Tights | Runny Legs Burnt Toast

  2. Pingback: 2XU HYOPTIK Thermal Compression Tights – franklyrunning

  3. Pingback: 2XU Run Hyoptik Thermal Compression Tights – Brie "like the cheese"

  4. Pingback: 2XU Run Hyoptik Thermal Compression Tights – Brie like the cheese

Leave a comment

Daddy, Did You Win?

Juggling being a husband, a father, work, and running

franklyrunning

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Out Running

outrunning our goals together

athlettuce

Eating Plants and Running the 50 States

Mom in the Mtns

The adventures of a mom (and her wild child) in the mountains of Alaska

Angie Runs

3.1 - 6.2 - 13.1 - 26.2 - 50k

for the love of nike

tales from a conflicted sneakerhead

The Fit Wanderer.

forever wandering

Keny'inz 2012

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied." Matthew 5:6

the fight and flight response

running through the wall, one goal at a time

Simple Speedy Snacks

Recipes and stories about snacking

bearrunner

Just another WordPress.com site

Run The Long Road

hard work, determination, and a little luck...